FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Timothy J. McDonald,
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
DATE: May 22, 2019
RE: Daniel McLeod sentenced to ten (10) years in the Missouri Department of Corrections for Driving While Intoxicated
OZARK, MO – Christian County Prosecuting Attorney Amy J. Fite announced today that DANIEL MCLEOD, date of birth 08/02/1960 of Republic, Missouri was sentenced on Wednesday, May 22, 2019, by the Honorable Laura Johnson, to ten (10) years in the Missouri Department of Corrections for the class B felony of Driving While Intoxicated and seven (7) years in the Missouri Department of Corrections for the class D felony of Driving While Intoxicated Resulting in Serious Physical Injury and one (1) year in the Christian County Jail for the class A misdemeanor of Driving While Intoxicated – Person less than 17 years of Age in the Vehicle. The defendant was sentenced under an increased range of punishment for acting with criminal negligence to cause the death of a person while he or she has a blood alcohol content of at least eighteen-hundredths of one percent (0.18). The defendant had previously pled guilty pursuant to an agreement where the State would recommend a maximum of 15 years in the Missouri Department of Corrections.
During the early morning hours of May 21, 2017, the Missouri State Highway Patrol responded to a crash with injuries on Terrell Valley Dr., south of Farm Road 194, in Christian County Missouri. At the scene first responders located Shane House, who had died as a result of injuries sustained in the crash. They also located Amanda Medlin, who was determined to be five months pregnant and had suffered traumatic brain injury from the crash. The defendant was located at the scene, and after admitting to driving the car involved in the crash, was determined to have a blood alcohol content of 0.18.
The range of punishment for a class B felony is a term of incarceration of 5-15 years in the Missouri Department of Corrections. The range of punishment for a D felony is a term of incarceration up to 7 years and/or a fine up to $10,000. The range of punishment for an A misdemeanor is a term of incarceration up to 1 year in the county jail and/or a fine up $2,000.